Sixteen

I’ve been trying to think of a blog post to write lately, but it’s been hard to be positive. And that’s always something I try to spread on here, positivity. But America… We haven’t been looking so good this week.

It’s been hard for me to stop crying. I’ve always been super sensitive, but I think that this is one of those things that strikes everyone. This is one of those days where everyone is somber. This is going to be one of those days that’s remembered… And I despise that. I can’t stand that we have to have days like this, days of rememberance for such terrible tragedies. The fact that there is so much hate being spread around, it’s the very opposite of positive. There have been so, so many pointless deaths lately. Completely innocent people have had their lives taken from them. It’s gotten to a point that I dread looking at my news channel, because you just never know what else you’re going to see.

Some days I wake up and hear the beginning of a story about a tragedy, and I think, “What on earth happened now?”

It’s that constant. Can you believe that? Isn’t that awful? We already have so many natural disasters against us, and the fact that we’re purposefully adding more on top of all of that makes me sick.

It makes me angry that I feel so powerless over the situation.

It makes me so completely heartbroken that so many people living their lives had that robbed from them.

It makes me nervous to go anywhere at all anymore. Because you just never know.
 

Today, in church, my pastor preached about how we need to take down some of the walls we’ve built when it comes to other people. We need to accept diversity, open our hearts to people. We should not hate someone solely because they are different than us. Who on earth cares if someone has a different sexuality than you? How in the world does that affect you at all? Also, how do some people justify that it’s okay for them to believe in their religion, then point angry fingers at those who don’t have the same views because they believe in something else? That doesn’t make sense to me.

We are all human.

We are ALL different in our own ways, but we are also all made of the same stuff. Skin and bones, all of us.

Your skin color isn’t your ranking. Who you love is not a choice.

Break down the walls that make you think otherwise.

I guess if there’s anything we can do that is remotely positive… It’s to show love to the ones you care about.

Do not take anything for granted.

Don’t just assume someone knows you love them, tell them. Don’t just assume they’re going to be there tomorrow, because let’s face it, you really don’t know for certain. The world throws things at you that don’t always make sense. Don’t let your sibling leave after some petty fight where you were both heated over who drank the last Diet Coke. Hug your parent and thank them for all they do. Send your best friend a text/call them and express how grateful for them you are.

Do not take anything for granted.

Do not take anything for granted.

Do not take anything for granted.

You don’t want to skip out on that and then have something happen, leaving you to always regret not doing it when you had the chance.

Spread love, not hate. Because this has to stop. Enough is enough.

My heart goes out to the family and loved ones and fans of Christina Grimme. My love goes to the families of the victims of the attack this morning in Orlando. I cannot begin to imagine the pain that you’re going through and experiencing.

I know that I am a nobody, but my heart hurts. This is our world. My thoughts and prayers are with every single one of you.

Love you all,

Sofia

Leave a Reply

