Twenty-Two

It’s been a busy week! I love that. Does that sound weird? I like keeping busy, because I think sitting in my room with nothing to do makes it easier for me to feel down. Plus, it was the fun kind of busy.
Last Sunday I got to drive up to Chicago to meet Shane Dawson, which was insane. We left the city just as this huge storm hit, too, so the drive back was filled with lots of praying and pulling over at rest stops for hours at a time. Lots of bonding time for Anna and I. We got so tired that we had to pour water over our eyes to stay awake.

I also got to meet Us the Duo this past Friday! I’ve seen their show a few times since they opened up for Pentatonix, but I’ve never actually got to meet them. They were the absolute kindest people ever, and the best performers. Alexx and I got to sing during Goodbye Forever, it was quite the jam.

During their sound check, they sang this medley of hits from 2015 (click here to watch it, it’s awesome), and I was the only girl in the crowd that sang their hallelujah during Uptown Funk. Which, looking back on it now was super funny, and it was cute when Michael and Carissa laughed, but at the time I was completely mortified.

A few days later, I drove into the city with my family and we camped out overnight for twenty one pilots. As in, slept on the streets of St. Louis overnight. I’m sure that if you didn’t already think I was crazy, you do now. The things I do for my favorite bands. It wasn’t that bad, in all honesty… until it started raining on us. That part sucked. The show was worth it as always, though! I’m just now getting my voice back from screaming so much. I tried to be really artsy and made this mini movie called “Barricade Views” documenting the concert, but it ended up being not as sick as I originally thought. It’s still fun to watch.

There was this part during Mutemath’s set, which were one of the two openers, where they began playing the intro to a song I recognized. At first I thought it was a cover, but then it hit me: this was a song from Twilight! I actually said that out loud, too, and everyone around me stared at me oddly because they had no idea what I was going on about. I remember watching this music video as a vampire-obsessed preteen. 

I’m pretty sure I freaked the guards out when twenty one pilots was playing, too. I always promise that I won’t ugly sob, yet every time I always do. Forest gets me, because that was the very first song I ever heard by them. 

Concerts aside, I got to visit with some relatives that are staying here from out of state for a week. It always hits me how much I missed someone when I’m hugging them after months of not seeing them. I celebrated about three birthdays and have had entirely too much ice cream, but I honestly don’t regret a single bite. Ice cream is and always will be my biggest weakness.

Now, I’m pretty excited to just relax for a few days. I’m babysitting tonight, but that’s always chill. I’m going to try and get my sleep schedule back to normal and rewatch Stranger Things (again… Seriously, guys, I’m obsessed). I hope you all had a great week and continue to have a fantastic weekend!

Love you all,

Sofia

Leave a Reply

